Restoring Non-Backup Databases

<< <%SKIN-STRTRANS-SYNTOC%> >>

Navigation:  BACKING UP AND RESTORING YOUR DATA >

   Restoring Non-Backup Databases

On occasion, users need to reinstall ACCOUNTS (for example after a hard drive crash) and they have a copy of the database file (named OrganizationName.S4A, where the OrganizationName is your File Name from the Maintenance ⇒ Organization Info window), but they do not have an up-to-date database backup file (normally named OrganizationName-YYYY-MM-DD.HH.MM.SS.S4ABackup or OrganizationName-YYYY-MM-DD.S4ABackup, where YYYY-MM-DD is replaced by the backup date and HH.MM.SS by the time). This menu option allows you to recover in that case. (If you do have an up-to-date backup file with a name ending in ".S4ABackup" or ".S4AEncryptedBackup", use it instead, with the Backup/Restore Restore Database menu option.)

 

To restore a simple copy of your database file, select Backup/Restore ⇒ Restore Non-Backup Database. It will prompt you with a "Restore Database Copy" dialog box, where you select the  database file copy and the directory it is in. Once you select the file to restore, just follow the prompts, and it will do the restore.

 

The restore is done by completely replacing any existing database file with the same name with a copy of the other file. Once this has been completed, it will restart the program so that it can use the newly restored database.

 

Restoring Older Backups

 

If you try to restore a non-backup database that is older than your current data (i.e. you have entered further transactions, on later dates, than are in the database you have selected to restore), the program will give you a very explicit warning about this, and ask you twice to confirm that you really wish to do this. That's because doing such a restore will cause the more recent data, entered since that earlier database, to be lost!

 

Restoring for users of the Network Version

 

Only a user on the computer that has the Network Server version installed on it can do restores. Users of the Network Client version will receive a message explaining that they cannot do restores.