Backing up and Restoring Letters Files

<< <%SKIN-STRTRANS-SYNTOC%> >>

Navigation:  CREATING MAIL MERGE LETTERS >

Backing up and Restoring Letters Files

Note: The information on this page is not relevant to the free Lite version of DONATION, because the Lite version doesn't support mail merge.

 

Prior to version 3.66 of DONATION, mail merge letter and receipt files were only stored in the Letters subdirectory of the data directory of the computer on which you installed DONATION. As a result, there were several situations where you might need to move edited files from one computer to another, including if:

 

You are Moving the Program from One Computer to Another.

You use the program on two computers (for example home and office), and you want to transfer customized letters from one computer to the other so they can be used in either place.

You use the program on a network, and you want to transfer customized letters from one of your computers running DONATION on the network to another.

 

Starting in version 3.66, however, the mail merge letter and receipt files are stored in your database, and only extracted to the Letters directory when they are needed. After editing, they are saved back into the database. As a result, the concerns above are entirely eliminated. When you transfer a database to another computer (or with the network version, access the same database from multiple computers) the letters automatically come with the database, so no further actions are required.

 

So as of version 3.66 and later, the previously needed Letters Backup and Letters Restore menu options are no longer needed, and have been removed from the program.