Web Network Version User Management



Web Network Version User Management

With the Web Network Version, each user of the program should have their own login email address and password.


The first user that gets set up for a given database is always set up to be an Administrator, with full rights in the program.


Each user will have one of the following permissions (also called Access Levels):


User Admin w/ Full Access (also called just "Administrator"): Can add, delete, and modify the permissions of other users, and use all features of the program (subject to the Receipt Password mentioned below).

Full: Can use all features of the program (subject to the Receipt Password mentioned below), but is not an Administrator.

Limited: The same as someone using the Limited User Password in other versions of the program.

Read Only: can view data and reports, and create letters etc., but not change any data, generate receipts (other than sample ones) etc. The same as someone using the Read Only Password in other versions of the program.

Donor Only: Can view and edit the donor information, but cannot see or change any financial information, including receipts. The same as someone using the Donor Only Password in other versions of the program.


See Passwords in the Program for more details about these permissions, which in other versions of the program are managed by separate passwords (but without using login email addresses).


The only other issue about permissions is that the Web Network Version also allows you to set up a Receipt Password with the menu option Maintenance ⇒ Change Password ⇒ Receipt Password. Full details are in the topic Passwords in the Program. This can be used to restrict the generation of the receipts to someone that has this password. When this password has been set up, Full and Administrator users cannot create, reprint or delete receipts (except for sample receipts) in the program, unless they enter the Receipt Password when using a Receipt menu option that prompts for it.


Administering all Users


Any user who is an Administrator for the current database they are logged into can use the menu option Maintenance ⇒ User Administration ⇒ Administer All Users to bring up the following window in which they can add users, delete users, or change a user's permissions:




You cannot change an existing user's information in this window, only their Access Level. Each user can change their own information themselves (see the next section of this page to learn how).


You also cannot change things so that there are no Administrators (people with the Access Level "User Admin w/ Full Access"). You are allowed to have multiple Administrators.


When you add a user with New, and then successfully Save them, the system will email them information about their login, including an initial password for them to use, if this is the first Software4Nonprofits Web Network Version database (for either DONATION or ACCOUNTS) they have been added to. Please be sure that their email address is correct before saving, or they will not receive that email! You may want to also inform them separately to watch for that email, and check their Junk Mail or SPAM folder if they don't see it immediately.


For technical reasons, once you add a new user and save them, they cannot be edited further in this window. If you have made a mistake, just Delete them then add them again.


Users given access to multiple databases in DONATION and/or ACCOUNTS can have different Access Levels in each one.


Managing your own Login


When you are first given a login to a Web Network Version program, you are emailed an initial random password. You can continue to use that password, or you can change it.


You use the menu option Maintenance ⇒ User Administration ⇒ Edit Your Login to change your name, email address, or password. You must supply your current password to successfully make changes in this window. The window looks like this:




When this window first comes up, your current login email address and name are already displayed, and not editable. You have to fill in the Current Password field with your login password associated with your Current Email to be able to make changes. Any other fields you fill in are changes you are requesting to make when you click the Save button. As you can see, you have to enter a New Password twice for it to be accepted, and of course both entries must be identical.


Any new passwords you enter must be strong, as defined on the page about Passwords for Email and Internet Backups.


See Also: Web Network Version Overview